top of page

Me (forcing hayden to take a photo), Hayden (4), Brynn (1)

Me Plus Two

Hello! My name is Heather and I am a mom of 2. Here i will share our life with relatable, honest posts.

Search
  • Writer's pictureMePlusTwo

Why The “Newborn” Stage Is NOT The Easiest




I have heard it a million times.

“The newborn stage is the easiest”

“All they do is sleep”

“At least they can’t talk”


I think we make ourselves believe this. Because every stage of parenting is hard.

Every stage comes with new challenges.


I believed this too, until today.


One of my very best friends gave birth 6 weeks ago. She always sends me sweet photos of her son sleeping in his swing, or sleeping on her while she relaxes and I always think “That is the best feeling” or “Wait until he is screaming the paw patrol theme song 2 inches from your face”. We haven‘t seen each other much lately and decided to have lunch today. She carried the carseat into the restaurant where her son slept peacefully. I asked her how things were going at home and all the usual new mom talk, and she said “Everyone keeps saying this is the easiest time of his life and if that’s the case, I don’t know if I can handle it”.

I didn’t know what to say because my first thought was - he’s in a restaurant, asleep!


But as she vented, i remembered.

I remembered not having a clue what had just happened, or what was coming next. Learning to breastfeed. Learning what each little cry meant. Planning. Packing. Having panic attacks because the baby was crying and I didn’t know why. Having meltdowns because I was Just. So. Tired. And the HORMONES!

I remembered how hard it is being a new mom.


All of these things I had just forgotten about. As each new stage comes, we feel like the challenges are bigger, more important.


Right now she is worrying about if her baby is eating enough and if he will sleep tonight.

Right now I am worrying about how my 4 year old is going to handle a new school.

Im worrying about my 13 month old *STILL* not walking.


It’s all hard. With every age is worry and stress and love and happiness.

What we are worried about now won’t even be a thought as we worry about whatever the next stage brings.





Our first night home: me wondering how the hell I was gonna figure out balance!




Still looking pregnant. Huge, Painful boobs. Ohhhhh I remember.


.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page